Friday 27 October 2023

Ten Years of the Petrona Award

It's been ten years of the Petrona Award: 2013 - 2023, and to mark the occasion we will be revisiting the first ten winners.

Starting from next Thursday, we will be posting classic reviews from former and current Petrona Award judges as well as some new material from 'friends of the Petrona'.

To be notified of these posts, why not follow this website using or bloglovin' (see righthand sidebar for details) and/or like the Euro Crime Facebook page.

Here's a reminder of the first ten winning titles:

LAST WILL by Liza Marklund, translated by Neil Smith 

LINDA, AS IN THE LINDA MURDER by Leif G.W. Persson, translated by Neil Smith

THE SILENCE OF THE SEA by Yrsa Sigurđardóttir, translated by Victoria Cribb,

THE CAVEMAN by Jørn Lier Horst, translated by Anne Bruce

WHERE ROSES NEVER DIE by Gunnar Staalesen, translated by Don Bartlett,

QUICKSAND by Malin Persson Giolito, translated by Rachel Willson-Broyles

THE KATHARINA CODE by Jørn Lier Horst, translated by Anne Bruce

LITTLE SIBERIA by Antti Tuomainen, translated by David Hackston

TO COOK A BEAR by Mikael Niemi, translated by Deborah Bragan-Turner

FATAL ISLES by Maria Adolfsson translated by Agnes Broomé

1 comment:

  1. This award was begun in memory of our friend and wonderful blogger Maxine Clarke in the days when few people read translated crime fiction she was the pioneer, and other followed her blogging adventure.