Thursday 3 November 2022

The Petrona Award 2022 - Longlist

 From the press release which was embargoed until 8.00am today:


Twelve outstanding crime novels from Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway and Sweden have made the longlist for the 2022 Petrona Award for the Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year.


They are:

Maria Adolfsson - Fatal Isles tr. Agnes Broomé (Sweden, Zaffre)

Kjell Ola Dahl - The Assistant tr. Don Bartlett (Norway, Orenda Books)

Katrine Engberg - The Butterfly House tr. Tara Chace (Denmark, Hodder & Stoughton)

Helene Flood - The Therapist tr. Alison McCullough (Norway, MacLehose Press)

Óskar Guðmundsson - The Commandments tr. Quentin Bates (Iceland, Corylus Books Ltd)

Jørn Lier Horst & Thomas Enger - Smoke Screen tr. Megan Turney (Norway, Orenda Books)

Ruth Lillegraven - Everything Is Mine tr. Diane Oatley (Norway, AmazonCrossing)

Sólveig Pálsdóttir - Silenced tr. Quentin Bates (Iceland, Corylus Books Ltd)

Anders Roslund - Knock Knock tr. Elizabeth Clark Wessel (Sweden, Harvill Secker)

Lilja Sigurðardóttir - Cold as Hell tr. Quentin Bates (Iceland, Orenda Books)

Gustaf Skördeman - Geiger tr. Ian Giles (Sweden, Zaffre)

Antti Tuomainen - The Rabbit Factor tr. David Hackston (Finland, Orenda Books)

The quality of the entries for the Petrona Award, now in its tenth year, remains consistently high, so much so that for the first time, the judges have decided to release a longlist. These twelve titles will be whittled down to a shortlist, to be announced on 16 November 2022.

The longlist contains a number of new faces as well as Petrona Award-winning authors, Jørn Lier Horst and Antti Tuomanen and the previously shortlisted Kjell Ola Dahl and Thomas Enger.

Both large and small publishers are represented on the longlist, with Orenda Books leading with four entries, and the breakdown by country is Norway (4), Iceland (3), Sweden (3), Denmark (1) and Finland (1) with translator Quentin Bates being longlisted for all three Icelandic titles.

The Petrona Award 2022 judging panel comprises Jackie Farrant, the creator of RAVEN CRIME READS and a bookseller/Area Commercial Support for a major book chain in the UK; Miriam Owen, founder of the NORDIC NOIR blog and creator of content for communities, and Ewa Sherman, translator and writer, and blogger at NORDIC LIGHTHOUSE. The Award administrator is Karen Meek, owner of the EURO CRIME blog and website.

Notes to editors

The award is open to crime fiction in translation, either written by a Scandinavian author or set in Scandinavia and published in the UK in the previous calendar year.

More information on the history of the Award and previous winners can be found at the Petrona Award website (

The Petrona team would like to thank our sponsor, David Hicks, for his generous support of the 2022 Petrona Award.

No comments:

Post a Comment